2019 Lay Leadership Elections:
Answer God’s Call

Lay Leadership is the heartbeat of The Riverside Church. As a congregational church the various commissions and committees lead the way as we aspire to embody the love and justice of God in our neighborhood, across the nation, and around the world.

Church Council (4 openings)
The Church Council (a Board of Deacons and Trustees) has oversight responsibility for all congregational matters of the Church, both secular and spiritual. As such, the Council bears responsibility for all aspects of church finances and supports the spiritual life and ministries of the congregation. In all things, we look to Jesus for direction and for encouragement. Each Council member is also appointed to at least one of the following standing committees of the Church: Audit, Budget and Planning, Building, Finance, Communications, Ordination, Personnel and Salary, and Stewardship.

2019 Candidates:

  • Virl Andrick
  • Barbara Hampton
  • Geraldine Howard
  • Sonia Ingram
  • Allen Kratz
  • Karen McVoy
  • Anna Meyer
  • Marilyn Mitchell

Budget & Planning (1 opening)
The Budget and Planning Committee reviews and revises the proposed annual operating and capital budgets prepared by Church staff for presentation to the Church Council and the Congregation for approval. The Committee is responsible for monitoring spending through the year. It also collaborates with the commissions regarding program evaluations.

2019 Candidates

  • Ed Lowe

Education Commission (6 openings)
The Education Commission oversees the development and implementation of the comprehensive Christian Education Ministry at the Church.  Programs include: Sunday Morning Bible Study, Youth and Young Adult programs, Freedom School, Children and Family programming, Infant and Toddler Nursery programs, Career Day and the Scholarship Fund.

2019 Candidates:

  • Raydale Blaylock-Shand
  • Chiara Fuller
  • Bryant Harris
  • Jennifer James Soto
  • Courtney Klamar
  • Annie Meredith
  • Kate Sullivan
  • Charlene Wingate

Membership Care & Parish Life Commission (4 openings)
The Membership Care and Parish Life Commission accompanies church members on every step of their spiritual journeys. Programs include: Pastoral Care, New Members Class, Barber Training Program, Clothing Service, Faith Development and Spiritual Growth, Food Pantry, Laity Empowerment Series, Shower Project, Spiritual Life Retreat, and Wellness Programs.

2019 Candidates:

  • Danielle Hartley

Mission & Social Justice Commission (4 openings)
The Mission and Social Justice Commission seeks to transform individuals, communities and systems of racial, social, economic and environmental oppression. It overseas ministries that include the African Fellowship, Beloved Earth Community, Black Lives Matter, Coming Home, Ecclesia, Knitters at Riverside, Latino Ministry, Maranatha, Men’s Class, Movies at Riverside, Prison Ministry, Sojourners, Sharing and Densford Funds, South Africa/Cuba Support, and Theatre of the Oppressed. Additional projects include Wellbotics and Lift Every Voice and Vote.

2019 Candidates:

  • Carol Fouke-Mpoyo
  • Susan Wersan

Nominating Committee (5 openings)
The Nominating Committee administers the overall process for the election of lay leaders and is responsible for the integrity of Riverside annual election process. The Committee works to ensure that each member included on the slate of candidates meets stated requirements of elected office, meets qualifications as specified by and for each Commission or Committee and reflects the diversity of Riverside’s membership. As necessary, the committee recommends changes to the Riverside By-Laws.

2019 Candidates:

  • Abosede George
  • Imelda Isles

Worship Commission (5 openings)
The Worship Commission is responsible for our innovative and inspiring worship services. Programs include: Sunday Morning Service, Space for Grace, Morning Light, and Prayer and Meditation Services. Opportunities for individual service include Communion Preparation, Flower Preparation, Choirs and Ushers.

2019 Candidates:

  • Patricia Ali
  • Derrick Jordan
  • Mari Satterlee
  • Jesse Wilkins

Lay Leadership Election Dates

  • March 10, 2019: Deadline for Lay Leadership applications
  • March 17, 2019: Lay Leadership candidates announced
  • April 21: Announcement of Lay Leadership
  • April 28: Conversation with the Candidates in South Hall and voting begins
  • May 16: Deadline for mailed ballot submission
  • May 19: Annual Meeting and deadline for ballot submission
  • May 20: Candidates will be notified with election results