Lay Leadership

Is God calling you to serve?

Interested in serving on one of Riverside’s commissions or committees? Riverside’s Nominating Committee welcomes you to answer God’s call. Whether you are a new member or you’ve been here for many years, we encourage you to continue your path of spiritual growth through lay leadership at The Riverside Church.


Candidates for Church Council: At least two years membership with pledges fulfilled.
Candidates for Commissions and Committees: One year church membership with pledges fulfilled.

Have questions? Want to learn more? Contact the Nominating Committee.


2017 Lay Leadership Election Information

2017 Full Election Schedule
2017 Candidates for Lay Leadership Biographies
Listen to Welcome to Riverside Podcast Interviews of Candidates 

2017 Election Results

The Nominating Committee is proud to announce the elected lay leaders from the 2017 Elections. Please welcome your newly elected leaders to their new roles in our community:

Church Council
Mary Biggs
Len Leach
Marilyn Mitchell
Rick O’Keefe
Christian Rojas
Philip Salmon
Howard Sanders
Jean Schmidt

Education Commission
Eugene A. Melino
Pamela Palanque North
John Slorance

Membership Care & Parish Life Commission
Isabel Bogdan
Dana Ferguson-Moss
Eldonia (Elaine) S. Goode
Jerome Hairston
David Jensen
Kurt Karandy
Gregory Muniz
Edward L. Roberts
Vanessa Wilkinson
Rosalyn Witter

Mission & Social Justice Commission
Kara Dago-Clark
Douglas E. Miller
Henry Williams

Nominating Committee
Samuel Coleman
Shelly Ellis Harrington
Karen Mott

Worship Commission
Nancy Clark
Irene Ryan King
Karen P. McVoy
Iniva R. Ngaka

Appointments to Church Council
Jan Powell
Desi Ruiz

2017-18 Church Council Officers

After the election, the Church Council met on May 26 to select their officers:

Brad Jones, Chair
Marilyn Mitchell, Vice-Chair
Mary Biggs, Secretary
Phil Salmon, Treasurer
Jean Schmidt, Chair of Budget & Planning



2016-17 Lay Leadership

2016-17 Lay Leadership Directory (PDF)